sweet as honey garden party

my sister is expecting her first baby on December 17th.  I of course wanted to throw her the best baby shower this side of the Mississippi.  She asked for a garden party, classic summer BBQ style and I went from there.  I threw in the bumblebee aspect because her husband’s parents happen to be bee keepers.  I’ve always thought that was cool and when they found out it was a girl, it was set in stone.  The Queen Bee MUST have a party.  Here are some photos of the day:

 

The shower was more geared to a family gathering than it was girls playing games about babies.  My husband slow smoked a pork shoulder for 7 hours for the entree of BBQ pork sandwiches with a homemade sauce.  The rest of the menu was classic BBQ.  Corn on the cob, watermelon, fruits and veggies, classic potato salad and chips.  Chocolate bumblebee cake and chocolate mint pudding cups for dessert, as well as an ice cream cake.  Honey sticks were the party favor, simple and sweet.  Hopefully just like the new baby 🙂

Leave a comment